The age-grade tournament takes place from 29 August to 10 September at the Estadio Charrua in Montevideo, while the third match day (6 September) will see matches played in Punta del Este.

As in previous years, teams are divided into two pools of four, with the top teams from each pool facing off on the last day to determine the winner.

Pool A features Japan, Namibia, Canada and Chile while Pool B is made up of Fiji, Portugal, hosts Uruguay and Hong Kong.

The sister tournament to the World Rugby U20 Championship, the winner of the U20 Trophy will replace Samoa in the 2018 edition of the Championship. Samoa, who finished bottom of the standings in Georgia, will compete at the U20 Trophy in 2018 in an attempt to secure an immediate return to the top tier.

For Media and Broadcast enquiries, please contact the touranment media manager, Eoin McHugh: