To be eligible for consideration in the World Rugby Hall of Fame, inductees should generally meet the following criteria:

  • Retired from playing and coaching international rugby for at least three years (exceptions can be made)
  • Made an outstanding contribution to the game of rugby
  • Demonstrated rugby's core values of passion, integrity, solidarity, discipline and respect both on and off the field.

World Rugby Hall of Fame panel
Chaired by World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont, it includes Chris Rea (Scotland), Gerald Davies (Wales), Keith Quinn (New Zealand), Jim Webster (Australia), Pablo Mamone (Argentina), Henri Garcia (France), Don Cameron (New Zealand), David Hands (England) and panel secretary Chris Thau.

World Rugby Hall of Fame induction process
At the beginning of each year World Rugby determines if there is a relevant theme for that year’s inductions and from there puts a long list of candidates together. The long list of candidates are then put to the World Rugby Hall of Fame panel, via the secretary for voting. These votes and a discussion with the World Rugby Chairman determine the final list of candidates to be inducted. Each year approximately six to 10 people are inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame at a presentation which is traditionally held in November.

A full list of inductees can be viewed at