The World Rugby Awards 2017 will be a night of rugby celebration in magnificent Monaco as we reflect on the year’s highlights and recognise the achievements that have made this year such a memorable one for the global game.

Under the High Patronage of H.S.H. Princess Charlene of Monaco, the World Rugby Awards will be held on Sunday November 26, 2017 at the Salle des Etoiles, Monte-Carlo.


Beauden Barrett was named World Rugby Player of the Year 2016 during a star-studded ceremony at Hilton Metropole in London on Sunday 13 November, becoming the fifth All Black in a row to receive the prestigious accolade. England captain Sarah Hunter received the World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year 2016 award.

Australia’s Olympic gold medallist Charlotte Caslick was named World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC, and for the second year in a row, a South African player picked up the men’s trophy, this year Seabelo Senatla.

World Rugby Player of the Year – Beauden Barrett, New Zealand
World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year – Sarah Hunter, England
World Rugby Team of the Year – New Zealand
World Rugby Coach of the Year – Steve Hansen, New Zealand
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year – Maro Itoje, England
IRPA Try of the Year – Jamie Heaslip, Ireland (v Italy)
World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC – Seabelo Senatla, South Africa
World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC – Charlotte Caslick, Australia
World Rugby Referee Award – Alhambra Nievas, Spain and Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)
Award for Character – Rugby Opens Borders, Austrian Rugby Union
IRPA Special Merit Award – Jean de Villiers, South Africa
Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Syd Millar, Ireland
Special recognition of Olympic Games success: Australia’s women and Fiji’s men

The award winners were selected by independent panels, who voted on every match from the Six Nations through to the start of the November internationals. For more details on the respective awards panels, click here

Since its inception in 2001, the World Rugby Awards has recognised and celebrated the achievements of those involved at the highest level of the world game on the field, as well as acknowledging excellence in the areas of development and administration by those who demonstrate the values which forge the fellowship and sportsmanship so essential to rugby.

The World Rugby Award ceremonies: 

  • 2001    London, United Kingdom - Mayfair Theatre
  • 2002    London United Kingdom - Landmark Hotel
  • 2003    Sydney, Australia - Wharf 8
  • 2004    London, United Kingdom - Royal Lancaster Hotel
  • 2005    Paris, France - Pavillon d’Armenonville
  • 2006    Glasgow, Scotland - Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery
  • 2007    Paris, France - Pavillon d’Armenonville
  • 2008    London, United Kingdom - Old Billingsgate
  • 2011    Auckland, New Zealand - Vector Arena
  • 2015    London, England - Battersea Evolution
  • 2016    London, England - Hilton Metropole

Contact World Rugby

For information on the World Rugby Awards please contact Bree Hassanein at World Rugby, Communications Department.

By post:
World Rugby House
8-10 Pembroke Street Lower  
Dublin 2 

By email:
By telephone: +353 1 2409 207

By fax: +353 1 240 9201